Jesus…Something Happens When I Mention Your Name….

Once again, it has been a while since I have written anything on this blog, and I apologize to anyone who attempts to read it with any regularity.  But nevertheless, here I am again.

The title of this post comes from a popular Gospel song that we were led in singing by our Pastor in church yesterday.  The lyrics are as follows:

Jesus…….Something special, Supernatural about Your name.

Jesus…….Somthing happens when I mention Your name.

Let me pause here and say, I am a member of Dominion COGIC. I recently moved to Chesapeake, VA for the specific purpose of joining this church. I love my church and I really love my Pastor, Clarence Sellers Jr. and his wife, Shavon Sellers.  I think they are great people of God and great leaders. I also really love the Worship we have at our church.  It is God centered, free, and anointed. I really love the fact that often times during worship God’s presence is so heavy that I am moved to tears and I hear from the Holy Spirit. I am a firm believer that God heals, delivers and sets free during the Worship of him. I also believe that God will use that time to speak and impart revelation to us.

So during the singing of this song yesterday, I was surprised to hear what I thought was the voice of doubt enter my mind. I began to think things like, “I don’t see anything happening, and I am saying Jesus right now” and “I say Jesus’ name all the time and nothing seems to happen”. I was surprised by these thoughts, because I rarely question the things of God in that manner. But i didnt think it was my doubt for long because right behind those thoughts I began to hear the Holy Spirit minister to me.  He began to bring scriptures to my mind like:

  • We walk by Faith and not by sight. (2Cor 5:7)
  • While we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal. (2Cor 4:18)
  • 12 Then he said to me, “Do not fear, Daniel, for from the first day that you set your heart to understand, and to humble yourself before your God, your words were heard; and I have come because of your words. 13 But the prince of the kingdom of Persia withstood me twenty-one days; and behold, Michael, one of the chief princes, came to help me, for I had been left alone there with the kings of Persia. 14 Now I have come to make you understand what will happen to your people in the latter days, for the vision refers to many days yet to come.”  (Daniel 10:12-14)
  •  9 Therefore God also has highly exalted Him and given Him the name which is above every name, 10 that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, 11 and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. (Philippians 2:9-11)
We are Christians, and by our nature we should be people of Faith.  Faith says that even when I cannot see it, I believe that what God’s word says is true.  God’s word teaches us that God has highly exalted Jesus and given him a name that is above every other name, and at his name every knee will bow and tongue confess that Jesus is Lord. If Jesus’ name is above every other name, then if something has a name Jesus’ name is above it and it must bow or submit to the Lordship of Jesus. That means poverty, sickness, disease, strife, stress, hurt, sorrow, depression and anything else that is not from God and has a name must submit to Jesus’ name.
The Word of God also teaches us that we have to rely less on what we can see and more on what we know to be true from what God says.  We walk by our Faith in God not by what we see, and this Faith is what brings the unseen realities of God into the seen realm. We look at our bank accounts and see we have less right now than what we may need, but we look at God’s word and it says he supplies all of our needs, so we believe our needs are supplied for inspite of what we see right now, because we have Faith or trust in what God has said. We feel sick and see sickness on our bodies, but God’s word says that we have been healed by the stripes that Jesus took for us, so we believ we are healed in spite of what we see.
So when we sing this song or songs like this one, it’s important that we remember the power of Jesus’ name and the supremacy of God’s Word.  When we say Jesus’ name, things are happening.  Things are happening in the unseen realm of the spirit and by Faith we can bring these things into the seen realm. When we call on Jesus, the spirits behind the things that we are deling with begin to cower in fear and back away, the reason we often don’t see the results is because our minds are not renewed to believe in the spirit realm or to believe that God is working on our behalf behind the scenes.
God is real, Jesus is real, and the devil and his demons are real too.  These basic realities are what make up the substance of what is supernatural.  We have to renew our minds to the realities of the spiritual warfare that is raging in the heavens and become active Faith participants in realizing the victory that has already been won for us.
1 Comment

Filed under Bible Lessons, Faith, Miracles

One response to “Jesus…Something Happens When I Mention Your Name….

  1. Great post Reuel! On a semi-related side note…you mentioned at the beginning of your post that you moved for the specific purpose of joining the church. My wife & I are considering a move as well for the specific purpose of helping to start a church and I wanted to get your feedback on what all that entails since you recently did so. I’d love to know: How you knew you were supposed to move? Were you asked by the Sellers? Living arrangements? Employment? etc. and any other wisdom you care to share. Feel free to respond here, shoot me a message on facebook, or shoot me an e-mail at dstanley316@hotmail.com whenever your schedule permits. I’d vastly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

